spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Virgin announces billion-dollar Saudi investment in space companies
Posted: Sun, Oct 29 11:43 AM ET (1543 GMT)
Saudi Arabia's sovereign wealth fund has agreed to invest $1 billion into the Virgin Group's space companies. The agreement, announced Thursday and at...

Astronomers discover asteroid from another solar system
Posted: Sun, Oct 29 11:42 AM ET (1542 GMT)
Astronomers this week said they have discovered an object on a hyperbolic trajectory passing through the solar system, likely from another solar system. A telescope...

SpaceX prepares to shift launches back to SLC-40
Posted: Sun, Oct 29 11:41 AM ET (1541 GMT)
SpaceX appears ready to move Falcon 9 launches back to a pad damaged in an explosion last year. A NASA media advisory Thursday about a...

Senator states opposition to Bridenstine NASA nomination
Posted: Sun, Oct 29 11:39 AM ET (1539 GMT)
A Democratic senator has come out in opposition to the nomination of Jim Bridenstine to be NASA administrator. In a letter Thursday, Sen. Patty Murray (...

Astronauts complete series of ISS maintenance spacewalks
Posted: Sun, Oct 22 11:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)
Two NASA astronauts performed the third and final in a series of spacewalks Friday to make repairs and upgrades to the International Space Station. Astronauts...

Blue Origin performs first test of BE-4 engine
Posted: Sun, Oct 22 11:26 AM ET (1526 GMT)
Blue Origin said Thursday it has successfully performed the first test of its BE-4 engine. The company released few technical details about the hotfire...

Iridium to use previously-flown Falcon 9 stages on upcoming launches
Posted: Sun, Oct 22 11:24 AM ET (1524 GMT)
Iridium will launch its next two sets of next-generation satellites on Falcon 9 rockets with previously flown first stages. Iridium had planned to use...

Spacecom selects SpaceX for satellite launches
Posted: Sun, Oct 22 11:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)
Spacecom will launch its next satellite on a Falcon 9, with an option for a second mission, despite losing a satellite in a pad explosion...

Second set of COSMIC-2 satellites cancelled
Posted: Sun, Oct 22 11:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)
NOAA and Taiwan's science ministry have cancelled plans to develop a second set of next-generation GPS radio occultation weather satellites. NOAA and the...

Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)
NASA's Cassini mission to Saturn ended Friday as the spacecraft plunged into the atmosphere of Saturn. Spacecraft controllers received the last signals from the...



news in brief
SpaceX ready to resume launches from SLC-40
Posted: Sun, Dec 10 7:36 AM ET (1236 GMT)

ULA delays Delta 4 mission to January
Posted: Sun, Dec 10 7:28 AM ET (1228 GMT)

Google Lunar X PRIZE teams making final fundraising pushes
Posted: Sun, Dec 10 7:13 AM ET (1213 GMT)

news links
Friday, December 15
CSF Congratulates Blue Origin on the Successful Test Run of Crew Capsule 2.0
Commercial Spaceflight Federation — 5:54 am ET (1054 GMT)
Blue Origin subcontractor barge fire caused by fuel spill
Florida Today — 5:53 am ET (1053 GMT)
A New Category of Presidential Directives
FAS Secrecy News — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
Over 1,000 Emiratis sign up to become UAE's first astronauts
Arabian Business — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list