space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Curiosity performs first x-ray analysis of Martian soil
Posted: Thu, Nov 1 5:42 AM ET (0942 GMT)
NASA's Curiosity Mars rover has performed the first x-ray diffraction analysis of Martian soil, finding it similar in composition to volcanic soils found...

Progress cargo ship flies to ISS
Posted: Thu, Nov 1 5:25 AM ET (0925 GMT)
A Russian cargo ship launched early Wednesday and docked with the International Space Station several hours later. A Soyuz rocket carrying the Progress M-17M...

Enterprise display damaged by hurricane
Posted: Wed, Oct 31 8:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)
A pressurized "bubble" that housed the space shuttle Enterprise at a New York museum deflated during Hurricane Sandy Monday night, and the shuttle itself appear...

Dragon capsule departs ISS and returns to Earth
Posted: Sun, Oct 28 9:40 PM ET (0140 GMT)
A Dragon cargo spacecraft left the International Space Station on Sunday morning and splashed down in the Pacific Ocean several hours later. The Dragon spacecraft...

South Korean launch postponed
Posted: Sat, Oct 27 8:14 PM ET (0014 GMT)
The planned launch of a South Korean rocket on Friday was postponed for at least several days, and perhaps longer, because of a technical glitch....

China launches navigation satellite
Posted: Fri, Oct 26 10:53 PM ET (0253 GMT)
A Long March rocket placed the latest in a series of navigation satellites into orbit on Thursday. The Long March 3C rocket lifted off from...

Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Fri, Oct 26 10:44 PM ET (0244 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft carrying two Russians and one American successfully docked with the International Space Station on Thursday. The Soyuz TMA-06M spacecraft docked with...

Russian upper stage explosion creates orbital debris
Posted: Thu, Oct 25 6:11 AM ET (1011 GMT)
The upper stage of a failed Russian launch earlier this year has exploded, creating hundreds of fragments that could exacerbate space debris concerns. The Breeze...

Soyuz launches new ISS crew
Posted: Wed, Oct 24 8:06 AM ET (1206 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket launched a spacecraft carrying three new International Space Station crewmembers on Tuesday. The Soyuz rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in...

RL10 investigation delays X-37B launch
Posted: Mon, Oct 22 6:07 AM ET (1007 GMT)
The ongoing investigation into a problem with an upper stage engine on a recent launch will delay the next launch of the military's secretive...

news in brief
news links
Monday, October 24
China snaps selfies of its space lab
GeekWire — 7:23 pm ET (2323 GMT)
Reflections of the launch of OA-5: Infinite Blue
SpaceFlight Insider — 7:21 pm ET (2321 GMT)

about   ·   ·   mailing list